The Jury

Jonas Kåge

Chairman of jury

Jonas Kåge received his ballet training at the Royal Swedish Opera’s Ballet School. He then joined the Royal Swedish Ballet where he danced for five years before beginning his international career.

From 1971 – 1988 Jonas was Principal Dancer with American Ballet Theatre, Stuttgart Ballet, Geneva Ballet, Zürich Ballet and English National Ballet as well as guesting with Deutsche Oper Berlin, Vienna State Opera, Münich Ballet, National Ballet of Canada, American Ballet Theatre and Aterbaletto, Italy.

Jonas was Artistic Director of Malmö Ballet from 1988 – 1995, and of Ballet West in Utah between 1997-2006. He was awarded the Talia prize in 1993 for his production of Swan Lake in Malmö and the Carina Ari medal in 1994. Jonas has been Artistic Director of the Nordic Baltic Ballet Competition since 2011. 

Katrín Hall

Artistic Director of the Gotheburg Opera Dance Company

Katrín Hall was the Artistic Director of Iceland Dance Company from 1996-2012. She created a strong image for the Iceland Dance Company and positioned it as a world class contemporary dance company.

Alongside her career as an Artistic Director, Katrín has also been a prolific choreographer. She has created several works for the Iceland Dance Company as well as other international dance companies in Germany, Austria, Sweden and USA. In 2013, she founded her own production company in 2013 together with ex dancers from Iceland Dance Company, producing creations in Iceland as well as touring to Russia and Denmark. Katrín has been nominated for several awards for her creations.

Katrín started her career as a dancer at young age with Iceland Dance Company. She took part in most of the company´s productions from 1981-1988. She then moved to Germany and worked as a solo dancer at Tanzforum in Cologne under the artistic direction of Jochen Ulrich. Katrín worked with various other choreographers during her time with Tanzforum and toured internationally with the company.

Katrín has also created dance movies, including the international successful Burst in cooperation with film director Reynir Lyndal, and choreographed music videos, including pop star Shakira’s single Did it again. She has also worked as a choreographer for the UK version of the popular BBC TV show “So you think you can dance”.

She has been on the jury for various choreographic and dance competitions through the years – in 2013 and 2017 she was a jury member in the well-established and respected international Choreographic competition in Hannover.

Katrín was awarded the Order of the Falcon by the President of Iceland in 2000 for her contribution and work for the dance community in Iceland.

Madeleine Onne

Artistic Director of the Finnish National Ballet

Madeleine Onne has a profound experience from 16 years in the role of Artistic Director at the Royal Swedish Ballet 2002–2008 and at the Hong Kong Ballet 2009–2017. Madeleine was also the founder the dance company Stockholm 59° North – Soloists of the Royal Swedish Ballet, which she managed 1996-2002.

Ms Onne’s career in ballet spans over more than four decades. In 1978, she graduated from the Royal Swedish Ballet School and was engaged as a dancer by the Royal Swedish Ballet. As Principal Dancer of the Royal Swedish Ballet from 1984 to 2002, she danced major roles in almost all classical repertoire as e.g. MacMillan’s Romeo and Juliet and Manon, Cranko’s The Taming of the Shrew and Onegin, Neumeier’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Peer Gynt and in contemporary ballets by Balanchine, Cullberg, Goh, Kylián, Robbins, Tudor and Béjart.

Madeleine Onne was given the Swedish royal medal Litteris et Artibus and the title Dancer of the Royal Swedish Court and awarded The Royal Swedish Opera’s Gold Medal of Honour in recognition of her work as a principal dancer and artistic director at the Royal Swedish Ballet.

Ms Onne has served as a juror for several international ballet competitions, such as Benois de la Dance in Moscow, YAGP in Tokyo New York, Paris, Barcelona, San Francisco and Toronto, Prix de Lausanne 2011 and 2019, the Helsinki International Ballet Competition 2012 as well as competitions in Korea, China, Hong Kong and Sweden.

Additional jury members will be will be announced here later.